01 Avenue 1 Web

Match report | Weymouth (H)


Bath, Blair


Burns, Williams, Baggie, Wakefield

Match Report:

By: Neil Walton – Dorset Echo Sport | @DorsetEchoSport

Two late goals proved crucial as Weymouth sealed their 27th Dorset Senior Cup final win with a pulsating 4-2 victory over arch-rivals Dorchester Town at the Clayson Stadium.

Both sides made a raft of changes for the first derby since Boxing Day 2018, when a 90th-minute Brandon Goodship goal gave Weymouth a 1-0 win.

Dorchester brought in Ben Rowthorn, Academy prospect James Nicholas and Eder Batista, while Weymouth made nine changes, with just Josh Wakefield and Jake McCarthy surviving Saturday’s 5-1 win over Maidstone.

In a raucous atmosphere, Brett Williams and Andy Robinson wasted early chances for Weymouth before Batista and Tom Blair forced Terras’ keeper Mark Childs into action, the latter an agile stop to his left.

From there, the half petered out, making way for a stunning second 45.

Tom Bath opened the scoring in the 53rd minute, pouncing on a loose ball to slot past Childs from six yards before Harry Burns equalised nine minutes later with a calm side-footed strike.

A Shane Murphy howler gifted Brett Williams a 65th-minute goal but Blair’s skewed volley levelled just two minutes later in a frantic period of play.

As Dorchester pressed forward, Weymouth unhinged the Magpies’ defence as sub Abdulai Baggie nodded home before Wakefield slid in via the crossbar to break home fans’ hearts and send the travelling Weymouth contingent wild.

Magpies: Murphy, Torniainen, Sa, Martin, Clarke, Rowthorn, Nicholas, Wright, Bath, Batista, Blair (Toland 72). Subs not used: Hutchings, Leake, Symes, Brookes.

Terras: Childs, Wells, Olumuyiwa, McCarthy, Suraci, Wakefield, Burns, Hoey (Baggie 63), Robinson (Whelan 63), Odubade (Medway 90), Williams. Subs not used: Bruton, Wickham.

#WeAreDorch ⚫️⚪️

Starting XI:
Shane Murphy
Jack Torniainen
Tiago Sa
Neil Martin
Franklyn Clarke ©
Ben Rowthorn
James Nicholas
Sean Wright
Tom Bath
Eder Batista
Tom Blair ⤵️

Nick Hutchings
Josh Leake
Ben Symes
Alfie Toland ⤴️
Jason Brookes


Michael Begley

Jonathan Pike
Simon Mitchem

Fourth Official:
Thomas Holden