Blair 4 Web

Match report | Truro City (A)

By: Neil Walton – Dorset Echo Sport | @EchosportNeil

TRURO CITY 3 (Mbayo, Jephcott, Keats)

DORCHESTER were dismissed 3-0 by Truro City in the Magpies’ second BetVictor Southern Premier South clash of the season.

Truro dominated at Treyew Road to claim their second straight win through Harlain Mbayo’s header, Luke Jephcott’s curling strike and a bobbling Noah Keats shot.

Dorchester, who were restricted to three chances of note, named an unchanged starting XI from the one that began the 1-0 triumph over Beaconsfield on Saturday.

Resuming after that victory, the county town side started brightly as Sam Lanahan fired the first chance of the game over.

A flurry of chances ensued with Truro’s Jamie Richards lashing over from a corner, Dorchester’s Tom Bath nodding wide after good work from right-back Kyle Egan and Jephcott testing Shane Murphy with the contest’s first shot on target.

Minutes after, Dorchester forced Truro keeper James Hamon into a flying stop, Niall Thompson had a goal ruled out for the hosts who were beginning to dominate.

Former Dorchester midfielder Keats headed wide before midfielder Charlie Davis was replaced by Luke Winsper on 30 minutes.

The change did little to interrupt Truro’s rhythm as Jephcott shanked wide before Mbayo rocketed home a header past Shane Murphy.

Truro continued to control the match as Harrison Davis lashed an attempt at Murphy, who smartly saved before the interval.

Callum Rose was shown yellow for a poor tackle on Keats before Harrison Davis and Tom Blair were both booked after a pushing incident.

A second half light on chances prompted boss Callum Brooks to make an attacking change as striker River Smith replaced Lanahan, but it would be Truro who next found the net.

Blair had jinked through the home defence and forced a fine stop from Hamon before Jephcott was given too much room to cut inside and curl past Murphy in the 79th minute.

And Keats put the seal on the win against his former club, scoring low past Murphy as the Magpies tasted defeat for the first time this season.

Truro: Hamon, H Davis, Law, Ward, Mbayo, Richards, Keats, Dean, Thompson (Yetton 62), Jephcott, Booth. Subs not used: N’Diaye, Rooney, Garside, Smallcombe

Magpies: Murphy, Egan, Sa, Strugnell, Diaz, Lowes, Bath, C Davis (Winsper 30), Lanahan (Smith 71), Blair (Panesar-Dower 88), Rose. Subs not used: Martin, Wright

#WeAreDorch ⚫️⚪️